I am not a huge sports enthusiast. So, for this blog post assignment we were asked to look at the sponsors/partnerships of one of our favorite profession teams. How can I pick a team when I’m not into sports? Well, I decided to pick based on my favorite color. (Yes, I am serious). With purple being my favorite color, that landed me with the Baltimore Ravens!

The Baltimore Ravens have a partnership with M&T Bank, which is the name of their stadium. According to a news article on Baltimore Raven’s website in July 2016, they partnered with WBAL News Radio 1090AM and 98 Rock as the Flagship Home of the Ravens through the 2022 season. WBAL-TV will also continue as the official broadcast partner for television.

The Raven’s accepted new sponsors last year as well. Bizjournal posted an article that shares the new sponsors for the 2016 season. Bridgestone tire is the official tire retailer and the Academy Bus provides all team bus transportation. Buffalo Wild Wings sponsors Purple, which is the official women’s club of the Ravens. The make-up brand, COVERGIRL, is also participating in Purple.

The second piece of the assignment was to find what kind of goodwill the partnerships/sponsors participate. When looking for what the partnerships/sponsors do, I didn’t have much luck. However, I did find what the Raven’s do on their website. The Ravens have their own foundation which includes Youth Football Grants, Ravens PLAY 60 Grant, Baltimore Ravens Scholarship Program, and Official License Plates. The Youth Football Grants provide appeal to over 120 qualifying nonprofit youth football teams, which includes $1,000 for Under Armour jerseys, cleats, and accessories. The Ravens PLAY 60 Grant helps increase physical activity among area youth and encourage healthy activities while providing up to $5,000 to nonprofit organizations to create or continue programs promoting physical fitness. The Baltimore Ravens Scholarship Program has five $5,000 scholarships that allows youth to continue their education at the collegiate level. The license plates are offered by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration and the money collected for these plates are donated to the team foundation to continue aiding the youth in healthy development and nutrition.

This assignment allowed me to find out some cool things that a profession team does. It’s not all about the game but about giving a helping hand to others. Even though the color purple may have swayed me to the Ravens, I think it’s a great team for me to cheer for from now on!

-B. Spencer

 

 

